Busy, busy, busy

Isn’t that the mantra of life?  I hardly ever come across a person, that when asked, says they have nothing to do.  That at least is the case for me, I am busy.  I am good busy though and enjoying the new year very much!  I had intended on keeping up with this blog, but that has not happened as planned.  I am here now though and ready to show you what I have been up to!

I have started this cute little sampler from The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery.  I am doing the 2014 Once Upon a Time Sampler.  I love it and am so glad that some of my stitchy friends talked me into doing it (they really had to work hard at convincing me….hehe).  I am not very far and still working on January’s pattern.  I hope to get some more stitching in on it while I watch the Olympics!

image

Yesterday I spent some time finding recipes for freezer meals.  I tried this in the past, but the recipes I had used required me to cook a lot of the meat before hand, the ones I did yesterday however, did not.  I absolutely love it and would really like to get into a habit of making my meals ahead of time, so that all I would have to do some really busy nights is take out a bag and cook it up or better yet, throw it in the crock pot, like I am going to do today.  I found the cost for this is much less than when I go and get a bunch of random food in smaller quantities.  Being able to buy in bulk, really does save money!  As I get more involved with this, I will share with you my strategies and recipes.  Right now, being a newbie, I better just do some testing first.  It’s going to be tough, but someone has to do it!

image

I have started a new crochet project.  I have yet to decide what these little African Flower Motifs are going to end up as, either a pillow or an afghan.  However, either way I am going to love it!  They are so bright and cheery!!  They are also a lot of fun to make and are a quick project when I just have a few minutes here and there.  I think I would like to do a pillow first, if it works out well, then I think I would like to put a few up for sale and see what happens.  I enjoy making them- that much!  I am following this pattern.   I actually enjoy looking through that whole blog, so bright and cheery!

imageimage

A work project that I have been doing is this little owl.  A customer of mine wrote and asked if I could make her a pillow out of her Father’s old sweater (he has been passed for some years now).  I of course didn’t say no, I hardly ever do to a sentimental project that I know will be cherished!  This is a picture of all the pieces being laid out.  I had enough of the sweater to make another one as well and will be working on that today.  I will share finished pictures, these are another item that I am enjoying so much I might sell them as well.

image

And Finally, if you have been following my blog, you have seen some of my progress on this afghan.  Well, I was nervous about not finishing it, so I worked it up fast, so I didn’t have time to get bored! Hahaha!  Now it is one of my favorite snuggle blankets that we have in our house (and we kind of have a lot!)  I think I will be making another one like this in the future, but I would not sell them, as it takes too much time for me to do that.  Perhaps though, Christmas presents?

image

So I guess that is all I have for you today.  I hope that you all find something with beautiful color to work with today, there are SO MANY things that could be!!

In health and craft love,

Cil

One thought on “Busy, busy, busy

Leave a Reply

