Sugar Drug

I have goals with health and fitness.  I have had them for a long time.  I dream of strong, defined muscles.  Sometimes I even dream of being in a fitness competition.  I actually think I could do it.  I really do.  Until the drug hits….sugar.

I know many of you reading this don’t think twice about many every day foods, but I do.  I have now for about 10 years.  I am knowledgeable about almost every thing I put in my mouth.  I can tell you what it will do to me, how I will feel, and exactly how it will affect my fitness goals.  Good or bad every food (or non food in some cases) that goes in changes how your body responds to the day.

Many foods turn to sugar once they get to work in your body, so the chips that I just ate, although they tasted good, I know will change to sugar.  Or that root beer that I just had, although my favorite ever and made with sugar and not HFCS, is all sugar and the body didn’t have to work as hard to know that.  It’s like candy in a glass.

So why do I write this?  I’m not sure.  Mostly I guess just to say I hate sugar.  It is one of THE MOST POWERFUL DRUGS that we have at our finger tips and it doesn’t make me feel good.  I feel tired, bloated, and I lose ambition.  Now I will spend the next few days drinking tons of water and eating veggies and chicken to help my body adjust back to feeling good and having more energy.

As for this post, it was just a small part of what my day is, and I will pick myself up.  I will get my workout in today and enjoy the beautiful sunshine that has been given to us!

Keep running the race that is set before you with endurance.  Hebrews 12:1

Take care of you (I will take my own advice), there’s only one of you!

Cil

2 thoughts on “Sugar Drug

  1. Sugar is my ONLY drug!
    I’m a dark chocolate addict and admit it.
    I went cold-turkey with cigarettes 20 years ago with no problem, but try to take my dark chocolate from me and I’m most likely to cause bodily harm to you, lol!

    1. lol- remember that bag that I hadn’t opened sitting in my cupboard a few months back. Yah I opened it two weeks ago. It’s almost gone. I am blaming dark chocolate for my rootbeer today. I think I need to go cold turkey again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

