Healthy Living…

       Healthy living is something that I have been working on for many years.  It doesn’t mean that I don’t make sweet treats or that we don’t eat carbs.  But rather that we continue to make the effort to eat things that have been given to us to live a full and healthy life.  It does mean finding the treadmill in use more than 3 times a week and working up a sweat, and playing outside enjoying the fresh air, and laughing.  This doesn’t mean that I am going to go run a marathon.  That will never happen, it just isn’t me.  Now don’t get me wrong, I have wanted to, I have really tried, put forth effort…but at the end of the day after I run 5 minutes you would look at me and think that I just got done running 24 miles.  I am out of breath, my heart is racing out of my body, and I feel like I could fall over.  So, it just comes down to that it isn’t me.  This “pin” has been going around Pinterest which I find delightfully cute:

running truth

Healthy living doesn’t mean depriving yourself of food, but rather eating things that will nourish and energize your body.  Today we are going to try something that we have never had before: Kale.  I am planning on making them into chips.  I have heard that they are great, so we are going to give it a shot.  I am excited to hopefully add this super food to my list of favorites.  Have you tried a new food lately?  If you have please share.  Or if you have a healthy recipe that your family loves, I would love to check it out.

Until next time,

Cil

4 thoughts on “Healthy Living…

  1. I LOVE kale!! Hope you guys enjoy it.

    I should send you the recipe for a bean salad/salsa I make. I refer to it as my “crack” because it’s highly addictive and I could just sit down with the bowl & a spoon an eat until I’m sick, lol!

  2. Cil, try adding Kale to a soup or stew!! Yummy!! Or Irish mashed potatoes with kale mixed in! My kids will eat any of the above and actually like them!

Leave a Reply

