Generation cake!

Yesterday I was chatting with my Grandma through email and it came up that she was going to make a cake to enjoy with her coffee.  After asking her for more information on this cake she told me that it was a cake that her Mother had made and that she had made it throughout her married life.  I asked her for the recipe and she so kindly shared and said that I could share it with all of you!  It is DELICIOUS!!  and will be one that I will add to the family cookbook for my girls to have in future years.

Here is a look at it:

You can drizzle chocolate or just leave it plain with the coconut topping

Looks good doesn’t it?  Here is the recipe:

Coconut Topping Cake

1 Cake mix and ingredients to make cake.

Bake the cake.

Topping:

       3 Tablespoons melted butter
5 Tbls. brown sugar
2 Tbls. cream (I use milk)
1 cup coconut
Mix well, spread over warm cake.  Place under broiler until
topping is bubbly and brown.

After that is done you can melt Dark chocolate and drizzle it over the top.  This was my addition to the cake because I really love dark chocolate and felt like it tonight.  You can use it or not, the cake is equally delicious 🙂

Grandma said that the original recipe had a homemade cake recipe.  She just uses a white cake mix now and says it works just fine.  She was right!

Thank you Grandma for sharing, I am sure that we will enjoy this recipe for years to come.

Enjoy all,

Cil

5 thoughts on “Generation cake!

  1. OMG, it looks divine! Thank your Grandma for allowing you to share it with all of us. I have some ladies coming over to stitch next weekend and I think I just need to make this! ❤

Leave a Reply

