First Monday in February

I can’t believe I just typed that title.  ALREADY, the first Monday in February!  Every year I think that time goes fast, but as I am getting older I find that time flies even faster!

I have a list of things that I would like to try or do that could keep me busy for a very long time, but I always seem to think that I can fit it all in, in just a short amount of time.  Why do I ever think that is possible?  I decided at the beginning of this year that I was going to take a sabbatical from my businesses and focus on my family and finding my artistic mojo.  I thought, oh yah, two months will be enough time.  And then went ahead and listed all the things that I wanted to work on during that time.  Here is my original post:

“I am going to take a sabbatical from my photography and home and hearth businesses starting January 1st to focus on three things, and their names are, Justin, Jazmin and Jadyn. How am I going to do that you might ask? Well, I am going to do that by bettering myself. I plan on not crocheting or sewing during that time, unless I feel empowered to, but instead spend time doing things that I have not done for awhile like cross stitching, baking, working out, scrapbooking, (maybe some quilting), community choir, and taking a continuing education course in photography(I always have to be learning, it’s who I am). With this I hope to regain some zest for my businesses and make some big decisions as to the direction that they are going. By taking this time for me (and my family) I think it will give us a stronger future. I have spent much time healing from this foot thing, but have not spent many hours doing things during that time that really seemed to complete me and it’s time I take that back! I know this will be a hard thing for me to do because I am not one to say no to work, money and a challenge, but I still think it is needed.”

Seriously, did I think I could do all of that?  I lol at myself for thinking it.  What I am finding is that I love many things that I listed there.  Things that I had put off.  Things that I had forgotten about.  Things that bring happiness to both me and my family.  What I am finding is that I am going to revamp how I run my businesses to fit my family and not try to fit my family into my business.  I feel like this is going to be a really fun year, and I can’t wait to see what it brings, But I really hope it ……

S L O W S  down!

Family Fun
2 thoughts on “First Monday in February

  1. You can do it!!! 🙂

    Like you, I hate to turn down business, and have found my business takes over 100% of free time when I’m not at my office job. I’ve actually started scheduling in “me” time on my calendar and have been working my business around it. Hope it works out.

    I look forward to seeing more posts from you and what your creative side will be producing!

    1. Thank you Kelly! I am so glad that I am not alone in this quest for balance in life 🙂 I have so many fun ideas, I can’t wait to see what my creative side produces either- lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

